

Object Recognition

A Special Track of the 4th International Symposium on Visual Computing (ISVC08) <u>www.isvc.net</u>

Scope:

Recognizing objects is one of the most useful tasks in vision. While this is an ability that comes naturally in humans, due to the significant variations exhibited by real-world images, this task continues to be particularly challenging for computer vision despite more than 20 years of research. Not even the most advanced systems can handle the full range of partial occlusions, viewpoint changes, varying illumination, cluttered backgrounds, and intra-category appearance.

In this special track, we are soliciting papers from the visual computing community that address this challenge by extending existing methodologies or introducing new techniques for object recognition.

Topics:

Relevant topics include (but are not limited to):

- Object recognition using local features
- Graphical models for object recognition
- Hierarchical object representations
- Statistical learning methods for object recognition
- Semantic knowledge integration
- Biologically motivated approaches
- Object segmentation

Paper Submission Procedure:

Papers submitted to ISVC 2008 Special Track must not have been previously published and must not be currently under consideration for publication elsewhere. Manuscripts should be submitted in camera-ready format and should not exceed **12 pages**, including figures and tables (see <u>http://www.isvc.net</u> for details).

All papers accepted will appear in the symposium proceedings which will be published by **Springer-Verlag** in the **Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)** series.





Important Dates:

Paper submissionsJuly 21, 2008Notification of acceptanceSeptember 1, 2008Final camera ready paperSeptember 15, 2008Advance RegistrationSeptember 15, 2008ISVC08 SymposiumDecember 1-3, 2008

Organizers:

Andrea Selinger Salgian, The College of New Jersey, USA, <u>salgian@tcnj.edu</u> Fabien Scalzo, University of California, Los Angeles, USA, <u>fscalzo@mednet.ucla.edu</u>

Committee:

Boris Epshtein, The Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel Svetlana Lazebnik, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA Bastian Leibe, ETH Zurich, Switzerland Vincent Lepetit, EPFL, Switzerland Ales Leonardis, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia Bogdan Matei, Sarnoff Corporation, USA Raphael Maree, Universite de Liege, Belgium Randal Nelson, University of Rochester, USA Justus Piater, Universite de Liege, Belgium Nicu Sebe, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands Tinne Tuytelaars, University of Leuven, Belgium Michel Vidal-Naguet, RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan